Tags: encoreviewer

03/17/12

  06:53:00 pm, by The Dreamer   , 337 words  
Categories: Hardware, Software, Computer, Healthcare, Windows, VirtualBox, Quicken/TurboTax

CPAP Data Recovered

As I may or may not have mentioned, Zen failed to boot after it got the latest set of Microsoft patches on February 15th. After various attempts to recover, it has been declared lost. I haven't gotten around to resurrecting it.

So, I've been making do with a Windows XP VirtualBox that I have my on Linux system (starting to look like when I do get around to resurrecting it, I'm going to try 12.04LTS Desktop and Windows 7 in VirtualBox....)

Previously, it was just Quicken and then TurboTax. But, I've been wondering about my CPAP data.

First was EncoreViewer. How do I recover that historical data. I knew where it kept the files, because I had copied them from TARDIS into Windows XP mode. The question now was how do I get the files out of Windows XP mode. In the end, the answer was WinImage...to merge the differencing-VHD that Windows XP Mode uses, into a single file and then convert it for VirtualBox use. Could've gone direct...except that I found first try with WinImage didn't work...so second time I converted to a fixed VMDK file, and then converted the fixed file into a dynamic sizing virtual disk for use on VirtualBox.

Though later I realized that I only want it as read-only....to get my data back....anyways.

That worked.

Next question was how do I recover my data in SmartLink.

I installed it into my Windows XP VirtualBox, and wondered where does C:\ProgramData exist in Windows XP space....but, while poking around, I remembered it has a backup/restore database option...and wondered if I had ever done a backup.

I lucked out. The last time I used the software was the only time I had ever used the backup function....and that's just perfect, I restored from that and then did my latest downloads from both my xPAPs.

:cool:

Just have to see if I remember to do another download before my next doctor appointment. I didn't print anything, because I hope that by then...I'll also have my new printer. :))

10/30/11

  06:01:42 pm, by The Dreamer   , 349 words  
Categories: Healthcare

My new CPAP, and final download from the old?

Today I finally got around to setting up my new Intellipap AutoAdjust Travel CPAP Machine with SmartFlex.

Not much to write about setting it up...except that I couldn't find the power cord for it, so I just moved the cord from my old CPAP over to it...saves me digging around behind my headboard anyways. And, there was some question of where on top of my night stand to put it, and how to orient it. Even though I bought it with its integrated humidifier, I opted to not use it...on my current night stand set up (perhaps when I get around to buying the new one...and/or I become more comfortable with the unit...I'll position it such that it'll be easier to slide the tank in and out.) In the meantime, I'll just stick to my HC150 external humidifier.

The only annoyance I found, was that the online DME didn't include the clinician manual with it, and didn't set it up to my prescription. My (current) prescription is 7.0 cmH20. They noted that they had set it to Auto 4.0-20.0 cmH2O....but, they had gone into the menus, because the factory defaults are auto 5.0-15.0 cmH2O....

I did a quick test fit, was surprised to find air blowing already, and it was so quiet. I knew I had enabled auto-on, but didn't expect it to come on so quickly and silently...compared to old Respironics machine. The auto-off was a little more annoying, but I guess that's expected. Wonder what I should set Tubing Length to....choices are 6' or 10'. I'm using a 6' tube, but there's a 2' tube between the machine and the humidifier...and there's also an extra bit of tube (with a quick connector) from the end of the 6' hose to the mask elbow. Guess I'll go with the 10' setting. I suppose I could dig out my cmH2O gauge manometer to verify its pressure.

But, looking forward to first night on it....

Pages: 1· 2· 3

01/02/11

  02:22:23 pm, by The Dreamer   , 550 words  
Categories: Hardware, Software, Computer, Healthcare

One last thing, Zen.

So, I had decided that I was done yesterday with the migration.... but, I remembered one last thing that I hadn't tried yet. XP Mode. Can I get EncoreViewer 1.0 to run in it and resume reviewing my data. After some work, and lots of waiting, I got it to work. And, did my latest download. Then came the question of how do I print from XP Mode.

I tried to get to network printers, but that wasn't working. Not sure why or where the problem is. Did a google search and seems the way is add local terminal server ports, except there's no way to tell which port is what printer. Didn't matter, the drivers I need aren't part of stock XP and I decided that it would be too much work to try finding the printer anyways. Think I'll just install PrimoPDF and go with that.

Hmmm, XP Mode application integration into Windows 7 is interesting. Just the application window, though its constrained to the primary display. After I printed a report from EncoreViewer, I thought why did I just save it there? How do I get it over to my main computer? I was trying the print again, but see if I could navigate to the shared drive...which I thought, why was there a 'God-Mode' folder in the Desktop list. That's on Zen's desktop now the XP Mode. It didn't show everything that was on my Windows 7 desktop, so I didn't recognize it at first as being that. Closing the app, because I couldn't minimize the window (another quirk in XP Mode?) I saw that my document was in fact on the Windows 7 desktop.

Meanwhile, I was looking at the Devices folder on Windows 7, and thinking....it has identified the debranded display as an HP w2338h Wide LCD Monitor, which is kind of cool. But, that it sees the Vison monitor as "MW22E-BAD". I hope that isn't a commentary about it.

Anyways, I knew they were both the same size, the Vison monitor being a something .5 versus the debranded display being 23". Yet, I keep admiring how both monitors have the same display height...so they look right sitting next to each other on my desk. Got out a measuring tape to check that they were in fact different size monitors. The debranded display is 23"...and the Vison is 21.5". Ok, my memory is ok. Buy how did they end up being the same. Thought about it some more, and realized they have different resolutions, and the aspect ratio is probably different. Yup, that's it. The Vison monitor is 1680x1050 which makes it a 16:10 aspect ratio. While the debranded display is 1080p or 1920x1080, so it has the standard HDTV 16:9 aspect ratio.

Okay...I'm not going crazy.... at least on that subject :crazy:

Probably won't run anything else in XP mode, if I can. 'cause it is really slow, though from what I've gathered its probably intentional. XP in VirtualBox or VMWare is said to be significantly faster than XP Mode/Virtual PC. Doesn't seem to be a way to use XP Mode in something else, at least not activated or right. Though I do have a copy of XP that hasn't been installed anywhere that I could use, but I don't really want all that work. Feeling a sleep sneaking up on me.... :yawn:

12/30/10

  10:06:48 am, by The Dreamer   , 891 words  
Categories: Digital Photography, Hardware, Software, Computer, Networking, TV, Storage, Healthcare

December 30th Migration Update

Again, last night I didn't do as much work on migration as I hoped, between feeling some what really sleepy...which passed after a little sit on sofa where I had to go back to the beginning of the show I was watch to find out where I really was at....and watching the two part Christmas themed episodes of "The Closer".

The goal I had set out was to finally install my ScanSnap S300 and maybe EncoreViewer (which I had heard wouldn't work, but I had to see for myself). I also did some other things like install and move Eye-Fi, checked that I could manage the cards using the built-in SD card slot (doesn't work on my laptop, but it worked here). EncoreViewer wouldn't work...people had said it wouldn't work on 64-bit Windows 7, though reports are that the 2.0 version will...but don't need it yet, so don't feel like buying it. I'll probably see about getting XP Mode and see if that makes it work, otherwise there's VirtualBox...which I know works. I think I have one unopened copy of XP left.

I did some poking around on TARDIS last night, first it was move the LabelWriter 320 to there for eventual reconnection. Later it was to put the SmartCard reader for EncoreViewer back on the computer. I decided to plug the LabelWriter back in and see if I could share it. It wasn't working...apparently it doesn't like being connected to the USB hub. It used to be on a USB hub...though that's probably why it was the only thing that was still plugged into the old USB 1.1 hub. I didn't keep it when I moved TARDIS...

Seems the 6 USB ports on the back of the computer is a really limited quantity, with all the things that won't run on hubs. :## A bigger problem on the new computer, because the keyboard and mouse each take up one of the precious ports. I'm using one for the direct connection of my UPS, another will be for the external drive for local backup, one is the USB hub....that leaves one left, and that'll probable be the webcam.

The 7-port USB hub is filling up too, though not as fast since the LabelWriter320 isn't supported on Windows 7. So far its LabelWriter 400, SnapScan S300 and the USB to serial adapter (I mentioned yesterday). Maybe I'll replace the hub with one with more ports....chaining this hub so to the otherside of my desk...

During the LabelWriter 320 on TARDIS process, I had to reboot. So, I decided to disable a bunch of things that start up when it boots that didn't need to be there anymore. Mainly the stuff for ScanSnap and the many IM clients. And, with the IM clients stopped, I started working on installing and configuring some of the IM clients on Zen. I should get to getting the webcam working soon.

Installed some other stuff like Tweetdeck, Picasa...then decided that I should work on the backup drive.

I populated my old Sans Digital TR2UT-B with a pair of Seagate 1.5TB drives, one that I had on hand plus the one I received today via Amazon Prime. Had to remember how to get it to make a mirror, and then it went about its business. Wonder where the CD for it went to, and whether the monitoring software would work on Windows 7.

Now, I had commented how quiet the living room had become when I moved TARDIS out. It stayed quiet with Zen setup. This HP is much quieter...even when it has BOINC hammering it. But, the quiet has ended, because the fan in the Sans Digital TR2UT is quite noisy. At first I was going to put it near the computer on it or on my desk, but I switched to putting it down lower as far as the cable would let me. on nearby bookcase....same shelf where I used to have external drives for much the same purpose in the past...

After I had gotten the drive formatted, it detected the addition and asked what I wanted to use it for. So, went into using it for backup. It already takes a while to do a backup...also less free space on it than system drive....wonder if I shouldn't have gone with the 2TB external instead now.

Then I thought I should see about getting backuppc going, but left the things for the night to let the backup complete (and the raid1 build to finish).

Pages: 1· 2

05/10/09

  03:39:00 pm, by The Dreamer   , 543 words  
Categories: Software, Computer, Home, Healthcare

I survived....and then felt like experimenting

This morning, there was a loud beep along with a variety of other strange sounds that woke me. The power had gone out. I could still breath, so my PowerSource400 was doing its job.

I don't yet have the humidifier plugged into the PowerSource400, but I was only using it in passive mode last night. Though I was told in chat that it'll work on an inverter, so it would work on the PowerSource400. The brochure even touts it as a feature of benefit to truck drivers and campers.... Didn't occur to me to find out. Though biggest problem is forgetting to turn it on at night, and/or turning it off in the morning.

Almost as soon as I was fully aware that the power was out and that I was still getting air....there was another beep, and power was back on. I went back to sleep for a little while longer....

Later I saw the clean air filter light was on the air purifier in the room next to my bedroom, so wondered if the air cell would fit in my ultrasonic cleaner. So, first I cleaned my cushions using it....and then found the air cell was too big. But, also time to replace white filter....or rather swap a white filter in for the grey filter....gonna say it picked up a long more funk because I traveled last weekend....

Also in between cushion cleaning and air purifier cleaning...I decided that it was time to try my hand at modifying my ComfortLite II mask. Guess we'll find out how that works tonight.

Finally, I was looking at my data...and decided I should see if I can get EncoreViewer & USB reader working on my new laptop...where its running Ubuntu...with Windows XP in a VirtualBox VM.

Had lots of fun trying to get USB working, but basically it was combine various information found online on the subject...until I got it to work. There was a bit of VirtualBox/USB and Intrepid. udev file didn't quite match, since there was already a vbox one that did the same thing that it described. Another forum post had a different method, but talked of creating a separate group...make the device nodes in that group...and adding vbox & user to the group....while the 'VirtualBox/USB' method said add user to vboxusers group.

What I went back and did was have it make the /proc/bus/usb device nodes for the vboxusers group...and then finally the devices showed up (after a reboot).

The XP VM detected the USB devices, installed drivers and the light turned green....EncoreViewer started reading the smartcard, but then it failed. I fiddled some more...eventually rebooted the XP VM, it did a bunch of stuff (some 33 updates?)...and trying again, I was able to successfully read the smartcard.

Then it was a matter of copying some files from my desktop to the VM, so I could have the historical data. Laptop way will just be so I know it would work rather than use it regularly....of course, that might change if I make it the bedroom computer after the rearrangement. Though I'm thinking a whole new computer would go there....perhaps one of those ASUS atom based all in ones.

Hmmm....

What kind of trouble can I get myself into next. :hmm:

12/31/08

  10:06:00 am, by The Dreamer   , 245 words  
Categories: Software, Appliances, Furnishings, Healthcare

Night 2 with the CPAP

Tried a different cushion. Didn't like it....makes different contact with my face that bothered me. RT has suggested the medium nasal pillow might be the right size for me (rather than the large that was prescribed). Think I'll try that one tonight.

Also my head was wet this morning....apparently I was sweating a bit...and the mask/pillow arrangement kept things damp.

Still rough adjusting to the pressure when I first put it on, but when I wake it just feels natural. How I sleep has changed. Though right now instead of getting up half a dozen times through the night to use the bathroom...I do all those trips during the first hour of getting into bed, but I sleep through the night. And, now no more dreaming.....

I picked up the humidifier this morning. Not sure if I can find distilled water to use in it for the first couple of nights.

Meanwhile, I had left the Select Comfort pump unplugged all day...and after I plugged it back in last night, it eventually came to life and I was able to get more air into my mattress.

Pages: 1· 2

Now instead of subjecting some poor random forum to a long rambling thought, I will try to consolidate those things into this blog where they can be more easily ignored profess to be collected thoughts from my mind.

Latest Poopli Updaters -- http://lkc.me/poop

bloglovin

There are 20 years 2 months 21 hours 2 minutes and 29 seconds until the end of time.
And, it has been 4 years 10 months 27 days 17 hours and 27 seconds since The Doctor saved us all from the end of the World!

Search

November 2017
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 << <   > >>
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
Google

Linkblog

  XML Feeds

Who's Online?

  • Guest Users: 1
This seal is issued to lawrencechen.net by StopTheHacker Inc.
powered by b2evolution free blog software

hosted by
Green Web Hosting! This site hosted by DreamHost.

monitored by
Monitored by eXternalTest
SiteUptime Web Site Monitoring Service
website uptime